PiKoder     ...digital RC for Makers...

PiKoder Serial Servo Controller SSC PRO with I2C and UART for eight Servos

PiKoder/SSC PRO: PiKoder Serial Servo Controller SSC PRO with I2C and UART for eight Servos
PiKoder/SSC PRO - EUR 7,50
Controller programmed with latest firmware release

Overview

The PiKoder/SSC PRO Serial Servo Controller offers the control of up to eight servos either via I2C bus or through a UART serial port. Microcontrollers such as an Arduino or a Raspberry Pi feature these interfaces - there is no need for any additional hardware adaptor. If a PC is taking the host function then an off-the -shelf USB-UART would be needed to connect the PiKoder/SSC PRO to a USB port.

PiKoder/SSC PRO configuration

The UART interface is primarily used for progamming and for control in smaller projects. Two protocols are supported:

  • miniSSC-II protocol, which is frequently used for interfacing Servo Controllers
  • ASCII Control Interface, a two-way ASCII-protocol, which is designed to allow programming and control using a standard terminal program such as Tera Term, TTY or hyperterm.

For larger systems with serveral intelligent subsystems and sensors such as robots the I2C bus is advantageous compared to the UART port because the host controller needs only two pins to control the whole network.A plain protocol which has a lot of similarity with the miniSSC definition controls the actual servo positions.

When using the I2C bus the programming of the PiKoder/SSC PRO can be performed "in-place" via the serial port. This significantly simplifies the customization of the PiKoder/SSC PRO. Additionally, an "echo" - function is available, which converts all I2C commands received by the PiKoder to ASCII and copies them to the UART allowing you to monitor the system through a standard terminal.

Controlling the PiKoder/SSC PRO with an Arduino via I2C is described in my blog Makerprojekte.de (unfortunately in German but it offers an illustrative example sketch; another blog covers interfacing to the Raspberry Pi including the related Python demo code.

PiKoder/SSC PRO User's Manual (.pdf file)

The PiKoder/SSC PRO User's Guide provides more detail about the features and the programming of the PiKoder/SSC PRO.

Demo Firmware (ZIP archive)

The PiKoder/SSC PRO is available as a fully programmed controller. For your testing a demo firmware is available for downloading. Please note that this firmware does not allow you to change the I2C bus address and to store updated system parameters.

Related products

High Precision Servo Controller for 8 servos
Servo Controller for eight servos
Deutsch
Logo Pikoder
Shopping cart
PiKoder
...digital RC for Makers...
Deutsch
Logo PiKoder
Shopping cart
PiKoder       ...digital RC for Makers...

PiKoder     ...digital RC for the Maker...

PiKoder Serial Servo Controller SSC PRO mit I2C und UART für acht Servos

PiKoder/SSC PRO: servo controller with I2B bus
PiKoder/SSC PRO - EUR 7,50
Controller programmiert mit der aktuellen Firmware

Beschreibung

Der PiKoder/SSC PRO Serial Servo Controller steuert bis zu acht Servos entweder über den I2C Bus oder eine serielle Schnittstelle (UART). Microcontroller wie der Arduino oder der Raspberry Pi können beide Schnittstellen ohne weitere (Hardware-)Adapter bedienen. Für den Anschluss an einen PC kommt ein USB-UART-Adapter zum Einsatz.

PiKoder/SSC PRO Konfiguration

Die serielle Schnittstelle wird vorrangig für die Parametrierung und in kleineren Projekten eingesetzt. Es stehen zwei Protokolle zur Verfügung:

  • das MiniSSC-II Protokoll als häufig verwendete Schnittstelle bei der Ansteuerung von Servo Controllern und das
  • ASCII Control Interface, ein bi-direktionales ASCII-Protokoll, das für die Verwendung mit einem Terminalprogramm wie Tera Term, TTY o.ä. zur Parametrierung und zur Einstellung der Impulslängen vorgesehen ist

Für größere Systeme mit mehreren eigenintelligenten Baugruppen (Beispiel Roboter) bietet der I2C Bus gegenüber einer UART-Verbindung den Vorteil, dass nur zwei Pins des Host-Controllers benötigt werden, um ein gesamtes Netzwerk anzusteuern. Ein einfaches, dem miniSSC sehr ähnliches Protokoll, steuert die einzelnen Servokanäle.

Beim Einsatz des I2C-Busses kann die Parametrierung des PiKoder/SSC "in-place" über die serielle Schnittstelle erfolgen. Dies vereinfacht die Einstellung anwendungsspezifischer Parameter. Zusätzlich steht eine "echo"-Funktion zur Verfügung, die zu "debugging"-Zwecken alle verarbeiteten I2C-Kommandos über die Terminalschnittstelle zur Verfügung stellt.

Die Ansteuerung des PiKoder/SSC PRO über I2C durch einen Arduino ist im Blog Makerprojekte.de beschrieben (einschließlich Beispielsketch; in einem weiteren Beitrag ist die Anbindung an den Raspberry Pi über mit zugehörigem Python Programm erklärt.

PiKoder/SSC PRO User's Manual (.pdf file)

Der PiKoder/SSC PRO User's Guide beschreibt die Funktionen und die Programmierung des PiKoder/SSC PRO im Detail.

Demo Firmware (ZIP archive)

Der PiKoder/SSC PRO ist derzeit nur als programmierter Controller erhältlich. Für den Test des PiKoder/SSC PRO steht aber eine Demo-Software zum Download zur Verfügung. Diese Software erlaubt es nicht, den Defaultwert der I2C-Busadresse zu verändern und geänderte Parameter abzuspeichern.

Ähnliche Produkte

Servo Controller für 8 Servos
Hochgenauer Servo Controller für 8 Servos
English
Logo Pikoder
Shopping cart
PiKoder
...controlling servo motion...
English
Logo PiKoder
Shopping cart
PiKoder       ...digital RC for Makers...